Tags

, ,

Two weeks ago I started seeing a counselor, hoping to get some resolution to this drinking issue. Of course, she wanted to know about my family relationships. Just wanted to tell this blog what I told her about my middle brother and the first episode when I decided I did not need him in my life.

I had just been kicked out of my home by my second wife (that’s a story for another day). I went to a motel outside of Concord with my dog Chance. It was just me, Chance, and a duffle bag of some basic belongings. I was in shock, scared, incredibly anxious about what had happened and how I was going to survive. For moral support, I called my brother in Denver and told him what happened and what I was going through at the moment.

His kind response to me was, “You’ve been miserable before, you’re miserable now, what’s the difference?”

It took a moment for me to catch my breath, and then I said goodbye.

