Tags

Let’s get this straight — I am NOT a technological laggard!

Along with my co-editor at the Hillary Clinton Quarterly, I worked tirelessly to help make HCQ one of the first print publications to make the transition to the Internet. Back then, we still had to use some kind of MS-DOS-like commands to do anything. I mean, I was right there, closely following in the footsteps of Bill Gates and Steve Jobs. I just didn’t make any money at it.

The real reason I waited this long to get a page on Facebook is that I was hoping it would go away. But it’s still there and will probably stay there for a few more days or weeks or centuries.

On second thought, maybe that wasn’t the real reason.

The real reason is that I hate things that are too popular, especially if I had nothing to do with making them popular. I bought the first Beatles album in my neighborhood, so obviously I made George, Paul, John, and Ringo the fab mega-group they eventually became. I discovered U2 long before the Irish woke up from their collective drunken stupor and claimed Bono as one of their own. So U2 is all my doing, too. And I knew Hillary Clinton long before she became an international superstar. Then one day I looked up and some 300 million people were on Facebook — it’s more than that now, isn’t it? And I wasn’t one of them. No way could it be a success, not without me helping it along.

Then something made me change my mind about Facebook, but I don’t know what it was. Part of it was getting HCQ its own page and I needed to be the human sponsor to make the page. But there was something else. I just don’t know what it was.

When I think of it, I’ll let you be the first to know.

In the meantime, if you are on Facebook, do me a favor and become a friend or a fan or whatever they call it. I feel a little silly hanging out there by myself with just three friends (it’s starting to feel like fourth grade dodge ball and I’m still waiting to get picked.)

Please pick me. I promise I won’t embarrass you.

(Thanks.)

