We New Hampshire Democrats sometimes sit on our porches waiting for the current crop of candidate-suitors to come a-callin’. But sometimes the phone don’t ring. Sometimes nobody shows.

Alas, I was feeling unloved and unwanted when I received a call last evening from a well-spoken, well-informed young woman from the Obama campaign. Remarkably, she said she was not an “import” but a real New Hampshire born-and-bred politico. That was refreshing.

We talked extensively about Iraq and Iran. I recommended that she read All the Shah’s Men by Stephen Kinzer for a lesson on what the Iranians remember about our coup expelling their democratically elected president and installing the infamous Shah. No wonder they love us over there. That stuff happened in the 1950s. Our memories are short, theirs are long.

On Iraq, it turned out that my caller was more in agreement with Hillary Clinton than her own candidate. I think she said something along the lines of, “it’s very complex over there, we can’t just take out the troops.”

Hear that Barak?

She asked me two questions. One was about my “main issue” for Senator Obama to address (health care reform), the other was whether or not I wanted to be contacted if the candidate came to my neck of the woods (of course I would, though we have other sources for that info).

I think the call lasted 20 minutes. Calling me entails a certain amount of risk. I seem to have opinions and advice to give on political matters. It takes a while to unload.

Now, if I could just get a call from a certain female candidate whom I’ve been writing about for the past 16 years, I would feel like I was on a proper primary “date.”

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

