Does it take a solipsistic narcissist to rationalize hypocrisy?

In his interview with “Focus on the Family” founder James Dobson, Newt Gingrich admits that he was committing adultery at the same time he was persecuting Bill Clinton for getting a BJ in the White House.

The Fox News story is here. The interview with Focus on the Family will be released today.

Says Newt: “There are times that I have fallen short of my own standards. There’s certainly times when I’ve fallen short of God’s standards.”

That’s Newt-speak for “I cheated on my wife. The only difference between Bill Clinton and me is that I was not investigated by Congress for my immoral behavior. In other words, until now I got away with it and Bill didn’t.”

Thanks for your belated candor, Newt. The Democrats would love to have you run for president in 2008.

In a side note in the AP story, we are also reminded that when Newt resigned from Congress he had been reprimanded by the Ethics Committee for using tax-exempt funds for a personal venture.

